You From Another Star E17

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-35-22]

He may be over 400 years old, but MJ reacts like a child when his heart is breaking. Like someone who just lost something so dear and doesn’t know how to deal with it. There aren’t that many things MJ doesn’t know about, but when it comes to dealing with pain, he is at a loss for words. I get why he reached that decision at the end and I don’t fault him one bit cuz he sincerely thought it was the best for both of them. I bet a part of him even felt like he was doing the right thing. Maybe being an alien made him lose all concept of time. I guess to him – having this happiness now means more than anything else, but like what happened today, the more memories he accumulates with SY, it just deepens the emotions as time goes by. Pretty soon, it won’t just be difficult to part with her – it’s going to be downright impossible.  They reached that point of no return so like we all predicted, sacrifices need to be made. Only problem is – MJ is the only one making them. What’s even worse, once SY learns what that is, he is going to discover something new about love. That fact that he can’t make unilateral decisions that affect both of their hearts. SY might be a woman in love right now – ready to do anything to hold onto the one she loves, but even she has limits she doesn’t dare cross. If MJ is not strong enough to make that hard choice when the comet comes, I trust she will step up and make it for them.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-34-37]

Written before it aired: One thing you can’t deny is that telling her he is leaving gave her some eye opening perspective. Instead of bending over backwards trying to look younger, she now has a much bigger concern. After finally finding love, there is a chance she could end up aging alone. She might not have waited as long as him for love to enter into her life, but that doesn’t mean the pain of having to let him go is going to be any easier. At least MJ has known all along that there was a time limit on this relationship, but she is just now learning about it so she is going to need to let this sink in some more. What SY will grapple with in the days to come is going to test her character cuz she is going to discover if she really is capable of great love. Will she be selfish and hold on tight and not let him leave or will she find the strength to be gracious and let him go back home. Normally I wouldn’t vote for selfishness, but in this case, I am fervently hoping she does everything possible to make him stay.

I never noticed till their conversation on the balcony that there really is a legit reason for MJ to go back home. He has his whole past there and his family, friends, and people he cares about. Here on earth, he only has SY and Jang. Can the love and affection he feels for these two be enough to compensate for sacrificing never seeing his family again? Even if he stays, like she fears, she will age and he won’t. The only way for these two to make it work is if he can somehow age right along with her, but then he will have to forsake living for a few more hundred years. Plus there is that whole issue with his waning powers so if it’s a matter of dying quickly here or living longer back home, the choice is obvious. Looks like the only way MJ can have a happy ending is if he pays with a lot of tears, sacrifice, and hopefully only JK’s blood. No one had better die or reincarnate in this drama or else I am going to throw a hissy fit. This is one time when the lead guy (and the viewers) actually earned a happily ever after so I doubt we will settle for anything less than that.

E17

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[23-03-46]

Starts from MJ narrating: when I was first left behind here – I didn’t have even a short time to think when will I be able to go back to where I came from.  after that there was a time when I went to go work at the government office (reading philosophy, different types of science, astronomy, meteorology, art of divination, etc.)

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[23-07-18] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[23-16-57] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-12-36]

back in Joseon time a guy goes over to MJ and says are you still at it? someone could say you do all the work here. what kind of book is it that you are reading so intently.  MJ says what the book is about and the scholar Yoo JS. no matter how many times I read it, it’s so surprising. MJ cites the reason (it’s cuz the scholar wrote so accurately about the solar eclipse, lunar eclipse, and five planets. something an alien like MJ would appreciate) the guy says arent people going around saying that you are talking about strange things. that the land (earth) we are living on is rotating and that it’s the shape of a circle. MJ: it’s the truth. the guy laughs and says if this land (earth) is rotating – wouldn’t it be normal that it makes all of us dizzy so we cant stand upright? also how could he say it’s round- with what basis/evidence?  MJ laughs so the guy asks why are you laughing. MJ: if you see it from a far distance – you can see it –  how beautiful this earth is that we live on. the guy asks have you seen it from afar? MJ smiles and keeps reading

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-24-58]

MJ narrates:  earth is beautiful looking at it from a far distance. many people from where I lived were curious about earth and  wanted to come here.  this was the method in which we came to earth. we terra-formed a small asteroid and disguised it as a normal/regular comet to earthlings’ eyes –  in order for this asteroid not to be visible from earth it only comes perihelion (when earth is closest to the sun) and it happens every 404 years(each cycle). (you ask) if I miss this chance – would I have to wait that same amount of time? I don’t know what will happen. the orbit/route (of the comet) could shift in the future -more important than that if I cant go back this time, the chances are higher that I would disappear – in the not too distant future, I would die.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-30-24] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-33-50] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-35-06]

Back to last night scene – MJ looks at her and says let’s do everything you want to do in advance. SY: in advance? MJ: yes in advance- within one month let’s do all of it. she asks why – why do we have to do it all within a month? huh? why? why do we have to do that?  MJ looks down and says:I have to leave. she asks what are you talking about? leave where? where are you going? MJ: where I am originally from, after one month, I have to go back to where I came from. she repeats you are going – you are going back. he says yes. she cries and says ok go. if you go then when do you come back? huh? tell me. I can wait well. huh? a year? two years? 10 years? he keeps crying. so she asks you wont come back. if you go you wont come back. you wont come back? MJ nods yes and cries more. SY: is that why you did that – talk about being selfish. she stands up and says is that why you did that you bad guy. you are the worst out of all the bad guys I know. he stands to face her. she cant believe it and says over and over accusingly – one month? she runs off and he keeps crying.

SY gets a ride with Saemi to go back to seoul.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-36-43]

in the car SY keeps crying. Saemi says her name but SY holds her hand up to stop her from asking anything. SY says turn off the music cuz I am not in the mood to listen to it. Bum turns it off so Saemi says it’s my car. he says sorry but she said she wasn’t in the mood to hear music. SY cries and asks if he has those songs and sings a little bit of each sad song: “like being shot with a gun” – “I will get lost so live well” – “even if I die I cant send you away.” She continues to sob.

YJ watches the news about the world’s greatest comet that’s coming named ISON -it has become extinct. it got too close to the sun and got destroyed by the solar flare. another comet called Deep South is approaching earth. it has an orbit that coincides closely with earth and they are expecting a great meteor shower this month. his mom is bored and tries to change channel but he wont let her. SY comes home so her mom asks why wear sunglasses at night. why is she like that. YJ wonders if she was rejected by MJ hyung. her mom says if that Manger Doh gets caught by my hands, he is dead. YJ remarks that SY isn’t good enough or something so his mom hits him.

SY sobs on her bed.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-17-20]

the staffer says how SY’s phone is turned off. the director thinks SY is crazy cuz she ran off.  he thinks she is getting them back  (getting  revenge) for not contacting her last time and just packing up and leaving. he threatens to replace her, but suddenly MJ is there so the staffer says he is chun SY’s manager. director is about to yell at him – what do you think you are doing now but MJ cuts in and says Chun SY went to the hospital now. cuz of the stunt team’s mistake last time she had that accident where she fell from the wire. you all remember that right? she got surgery for that and it affected her respiratory, but since you made her overdo it and have 9 NGs -when you filmed that action scene where you decided to go with the first cut in the end -it seems it overworked her. even though she wasn’t able to contact you and went directly to the hospital, she feels bad for not being able to film. director says a person’s body is important and says let’s reschedule her.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-24-36]

HK looks at the photos of the part time workers from the stunt team and recognizes JK’s lackey. he calls the contact number but it doesnt work. He goes downstairs and runs into JK. he says you are late today. JK says today is the day I go do charity work.  HK congratulates him for something and says how impressive JK is. he asks JK to go visit the eldest brother’s grave with their mom tm if he has time, but JK cant make it cuz he has a lot of previous appointments. I will go separately later. so HK says eldest brother will be sad cuz he liked you more than me. JK tells him to rest and goes up

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-26-05]

MJ goes home and hears her mom saying to SY – dont just cry and open the door so we can talk. he reads from his Edward Tulane book and just sits on his bed. he narrates from the book: look at me. you made a wish grandma. I  learned how to love. that was a terrible thing. I am hurting. my heart hurts. please help me. SY sobs in her bed the whole time he narrates

MJ is in bed when he hears her mom asking where she is going this early in the morning. SY: I feel stuffy/frustrated so I’m going jogging. MJ sits up in bed hearing that

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-28-51] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-35-10] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-44-31] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-45-05]

MJ catches up to SY and asks to talk. SY: I have nothing to say. MJ: you should have picked up your phone – why didn’t you take my calls? SY: why bother answering the phone. you said you were going – that you were leaving after a month. MJ: cuz I thought you would be this way I said we cant work.  SY: that’s why I got lost for you. I told you I would fold up my feelings, but you suddenly showed up and said you would be my manager and kissed me. who was the one who did that? MJ: it’s cuz you go around making me worry. you made a contract with some random guy.  SY: why is JK oppa some random guy. MJ yells accusingly: have rumors that you are getting engaged.  SY: I will just do that.  MJ: what? SY: what difference does it make to someone who is leaving in a month? the day you go I am going to hang onto anyone and get engaged. MJ: you think what you just said makes sense? she gets a call so she says hello. HK: where are you? SY: I am jogging now. HK: don’t overdo it. SY: I am not overdoing it. where are you? she runs off so MJ calls out -are you not gong to stop there?

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-51-21] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-52-33] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-01-15]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-53-07] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-58-51]

the girl on the bench calls out professor to him. MJ looks at her and she runs over smiling. she says it is you. we meet at a place like this. he starts to ask who are you but she hits him playfully and says dont you know me. I am Go Hye Mi (her Dream High character name) – I kept getting an extension (renewing his class) last year and the year before. I said to you when I first saw you I thought you looked really similar to my ex-boyfriend Sam Dong (KSH’s Dream High character name). MJ: ah did you do that? she says because I wanted to retake your class I handed in a  blank test paper on purpose and got an F. you really don’t remember me. MJ: no. she says I’m disappointed. I was almost kicked out of home for that F. he says now that I see I think I recognize you. she says you probably don’t recognize me cuz I got a little prettier than last year. I’ve lost some baby fat and I have been hearing a lot that I got more mature. she giggles.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-59-39] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-00-00] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-00-42] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-00-50] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-02-32] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-05-30] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[01-05-38]

SY turns and sees the girl flirting and laughing with him. she is about to reach for a piece of lint on his face saying “you are going around with this like a baby. hold on a second.” MJ tries to say it’s ok, but SY saw enough and puts her visor down and backs into them and interrupts. the girl asks if he is ok -you didn’t get hurt? he dropped his phone so he picks it up. MJ: I’m ok. she asks if he bought a phone cuz in the past he only carried around a pager. you progressed a lot. she asks for his number so she can text next time. please tell me. he is about to give it to her but SY comes back and says to him – didnt you say you had something to say to me.  what do you want to do – I have time right now. want to talk now or not see me forever – choose. she walks off. MJ tells the student to go well and leaves. the girl says what is that sun cap ajumma. she looks like a fake version of chun SY.

SY asks what happens if you dont go. cant you not go? i dont know where it is but let’s just say your hometown is somewhere. but is there a rule that people have to live just in their hometown. not half the people in Seoul. even though they have hometowns they think of Seoul as their hometown and live here. MJ: this isn’t that kind of situation. SY: I don’t know what the problem is. I don’t know it and don’t want to know it. you said you lived here for a couple hundred of years so why does it have to be now of all things.  after living here all that time ok as soon as you meet me – when I finally made up my mind to do something well and we didnt even get to have a proper date so why are you leaving now. couldnt you just stay here with me? if you arent going to then dont make me waver. you can just leave but i have to keep living here. where you used to be but then disappeared. so if you are going to go then leave quietly and leave me alone. MJ: if that is what you want then I will do that. he walks off. she watches him and goes the other way

HK puts flowers on his brother’s grave. he tells his mom that his brother died in that accident at my age now. she says that’s true. I wondered if I could live after losing my child, but time has already gone by this much. he says i thought big brother couldnt drink alcohol so why did he drink that night and drive. next day was my graduation and he said he would be sure to go. the mom says your brother had depression back then. we found out later after hearing about his toxicology report in the autopsy. he had medication in his system for depression. maybe it was cuz it wasn’t working out well with the girl he liked so maybe that’s why he made that kind of choice. HK says the brother i knew wasn’t that kind of person – something went wrong.

HK does research on his brother’s accident by looking over old newspapers. then he reads about Han’s death. he connects the dots that they had the same depression medication in their system

HK goes to meet Yoo. HK: I am Lee HK -the one who called you. Yoo says It’s nice to meet you. I heard a lot about you from Saemi.

they sit and talk. Yoo asks what is the reason you are telling me that cuz he is your older brother. HK says I think I have to stop my brother. to do that I have to know for certain how much of it was my brother’s doing. HK gives him the address for the mental hospital and number.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[02-55-42]

SY is eating with Bokja. SY tells her to eat all the meat without fat. let’s go to eat pig skins tm. I really can’t age. Bokja says if that is your goal then you shouldn’t drink soju. SY: I am drinking this cuz I am miserable so Bokja says you met your dad who you missed so much and you are doing a movie so what is bothering you

Jang says to drink alcohol so MJ says you know I cant drink. Jang says it’s just the two of us so what will it hurt. don’t accumulate (your sadness) and drink this and feel better. MJ drinks the makali. Jang. it would have been better not to start up with her from the start. you already started it so what can you do now.  MJ: you asked me before how I was able to live such a long time alone. wasn’t it anguishing. Jang: yes I did. MJ: when I was living completely alone it wasnt miserable at all but now that i have someone I love for the first time and I have to leave her side now I am really in anguish. like I am left alone in the universe. he drinks more makali

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-05-38]

SY says aloud to Bokja: if I could turn back time I would turn it back -if I could just turn it back to when I didn’t meet that person. then it would really be nice. then no matter how much he makes me waver, I wont waver –  I wouldnt have liked him either. just thinking of being without him, I think I could die cuz it stings so much.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-07-22]

SY goes home and looks over

the lights on MJ’s house goes on and off cuz MJ is drunk. Jang wonders what is up with the lights. then most of the lights go off. MJ reaches for more so Jang has to stop him from drinking more. Jang mutters how it’s dark now. Mj asks what should I do. he hangs his head and then all the lights go off so they sit in complete darkness.

SY is getting some water and her lights go off too. she wonders if it’s a blackout. she calls out to YJ to find candles. the whole building and the one next to it loses power

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-09-05]

Jang lights a candle and mutters what is this. I shouldn’t have let you drink. I thought you would just make things fly around -not mess with the breakers in the building , but the issue got bigger. MJ is resentful he is wasting the time he has left with Jang so he says: there is not much time left. why should I stay here? why must I spend this precious time with you?  Jang: I get you feel bad but must you put it like that. MJ: right now – an hour, a minute, even a second is precious. so why should I spend this time that is like blood (with you). this is not where I want to be. it’s not here. he passes out and the candle goes out at the same time so Jang has to relight it. Jang mutters now I know how you really feel.  in front of a woman our 30 yr friendship means nothing. he lights the candle and MJ is gone

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-17-38]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-18-34]

MJ is on the balcony telling Saemi’s poster photo: why are you there? Jang goes out and asks what are you doing. MJ resumes talking to the poster: move cuz I came out to see chun SY’s face so why are you there – move. that’s my SY’s spot. Jang tells him to go in but MJ passes out again and makes the lights on that poster go off. Jang hits him and says do you not have anywhere else to use your energy. MJ then causes a neighborhood wide blackout. Jang: i shouldnt have let him drink -what do I do now.

Jang sleeps on the other sofa next to MJ’s, but MJ is not there -only his blankets.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-26-45]

when SY goes to bed MJ is sleeping in her bed. she doesn’t want to wake him and tells him in a low voice when did you get here. whose permission did you get. hurry and get up and go. she counts in a low voice – 1,2,3. i warned you this much but you cant understand? (you dont listen) cant be helped I did as much as I could. she smells alcohol on him and wonders  -what is this – he said he never drinks. he mutters “I dont want to be with you lawyer jang. I….” she asks quietly: who do you want to be with? MJ: chun SY.

next morning the newspapers wrote about the blackout.  MJ wakes up in her bed.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-30-16]

MJ narrates in a condescending tone: the person I despise the most are the ones who drink and black out. they are so drunk they lay down in a home that is not theirs and cant remember anything of what they did the night before. why are humans humans? it’s cuz they have free will ( to can control themselves.) but cuz they lose to alcohol, they behave in ways that are out of their control. he shakes his head and tsks.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-36-41] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-37-43] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-40-45]

MJ realizes he woke up in her bed and looks stunned cuz he became what he despised. he gets out of bed but sees SY sitting there on her sofa waiting for him to wake up.  MJ mutters: what happened. SY comes over and asks what do you think happened. he starts to say “last night I clearly…” but she cuts in and says you were clearly drunk and passed out on my bed

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-41-54]

a guilty MJ plays with the hourglass and says i don’t remember well. did I really do that? would that happen- I dont remember anything at all.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-16-19] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-16-35] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-16-44] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-16-52] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-18-05]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-17-18]

she leans over and says into his face: you said even if you die you wouldn’t drink alcohol. like this -you used teleporting and went inside anywhere and don’t remember what happened late at night. he asks her to move back a little cuz you keep doing that. she does it more and asks so what if I do? MJ: I cant think straight at all. SY: then what about this and kisses him. she stands straight and tells him to go. let’s not meet again. MJ: are you kidding – then why did you just do that now? SY: it makes you furious huh? MJ: what? SY: that is exactly how I feel. a person who was just still – you make her lose her mind and shake her up and say “I have go and I cant come back” -doing this – do you know how selfish and awful it is? you have to know that.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-54-13] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-06-02]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[03-58-21]

Just then her mom knocks and says I am coming in so both of them panic. SY runs to lock her door while MJ goes to the side. SY tells her through the door – you cant so her mom asks why not.  MJ tries but cant teleport. SY says I am not in the mood to talk now.  she motions for him to hurry and go. her mom says who said I wanted to talk to you – I just want to use your lotion. I didn’t bring any lotion from home. SY lies: I ran out of lotion too. MJ tries again but nothing happens (except that he looks like he might pull a muscle from all that exertion) SY yells through the door: just leave me alone. her mom mutters what a stingy brat. SY goes over and asks him – what is it? why arent you going. you do that well – teleporting. hurry and go. he says it’s not working. SY: what is that – when you came over you came through that so why cant you go. mom and YJ are outside so what can we do? MJ: hang on a minute. he tries again, but cant do it. MJ: why am I like this. maybe cuz I’m hung over.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-04-31] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-08-48] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-09-05] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-10-05]

MJ goes home the old fashioned human way and crawls over to his side of the balcony from hers while she criticizes him : what is this. was being an alien and teleporting a lie? MJ: don’t make me talk. SY: no way – just cuz of that one kiss you cant use your teleporting ability? MJ: that’s not it. SY: what kind of teleporting works and doesn’t. you are no better than an earthling. she goes inside. MJ: that woman – really. He continues to carefully cross over to his side trying not to slip and fall

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-39-14]

she goes back in and YJ is there and startles her. he asks who she was talking to. SY: who would I talk to – what are you talking about. YJ: so you are saying you spoke like that alone? it’s suspicious. she stops him from going out and checking himself. she asks him to go out but then asks if he called dad. I gave you his number last time. YJ: I told you- he is dad to you but I don’t remember him. it’s awkward now so why bother. she says he is still your dad even though it feels awkward. no matter how comfortable you feel around him – a next door ajussi is a next door ajussi and no matter how awkward our dad is our dad. you think you fell from some heaven. ya what are you – some alien?

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-42-07]

YJ goes and stalks his dad at his job and watches him from afar

park and Yoo go the mental hospital that HK gave the address to. park worries that Yoo could get in a lot of trouble from his boss later cuz they are pursuing this case without consent . Yoo wants to see this through and says I am doing this by putting my neck on the line. he wants to get proof even though they have to do it this way. they go in with a warrant to check all the patients, but do not find JK’s ex wife

the guy at the hospital says we clearly told you there was no patient like that so how are you going to compensate for this disturbance.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-51-21]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-52-15]

MJ runs into YJ in the hall. MJ: are you going somewhere? YJ: my mom’s home. my sister is feeling so awful so it’s tiring to be with her. MJ: ok let’s meet again next time. MJ is about to go but YJ calls him and says my sister appears strong and doesn’t seem like she thinks about anything, but she isn’t like that. to tell the truth, I don’t know what happened with you, but for the past few days she cant eat or sleep well.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[04-55-57] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-05-36] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-07-53] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-08-09] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-08-25] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-09-57]

SY sits and watches the time tick by. she texts MJ and types: what are you doing now? she deletes then types: why is time such a waste? (meaning so precious) she deletes then types: even a month or ten days is ok so let’s be together. she deletes then types:  I like you a lot. she deletes and didn’t send any of them. she calls out his name aloud. can you hear me? in his room he says yes I hear you. she says I don’t know if you can hear me or not but I will just talk. i thought it over a lot and i think I overreacted. ever since I was young I was famous for really quickly changing my mind and being inconsistent. I didnt even like the same singers all the way. i used to like HOT. then Sechskies, then GOD, then Shinwah. I changed like five fan clubs. anyway I am inconsistent like this. I thought it over and I think I can forget you quickly. don’t let me have any unfulfilled feelings/regrets.  if I send you away without doing anything then I think i will have regrets leftover. so like everything others do in 3 months, a year, or two years – like you said – let’s do it all within a month. she cries and says so after we do everything we want to do – even if it’s not a month I might get tired of you. i am originally that kind of person. DMJ. MJ: why? SY: DMJ. MJ: why chun SY? SY: so I can forget you well -without any regret – help me so I can forget you well. MJ:ok but how can I forget you? she asks can you hear me? are you listening? he cries. she says let’s go on a trip tm – if we stick together all day I might get tired of you and not like you. are you listening to me. she gets a text from him – let’s go on the trip.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-12-13] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-13-46] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-14-02] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-14-34]

next day she comes out and he is waiting. They both came out earlier than they were supposed to.  MJ: you said to meet when it’s daylight. it’s still early in the morning. SY: what about you?  MJ: just in case I was late. SY: me too. MJ: shall we go? SY: let’s do. on the elevator, she takes his hand. she says let’s just hold on. he agrees

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-11-44]

in the car she holds onto his hand and his arm

JK is on the phone and says look into another hospital. who was the one at the hospital who let the prosecutor know? there is one person I can think of.  HK knocks and goes in so JK says into the phone talk later. HK asks if JK has some time. JK: why?

HK takes him out so JK asks what’s going on. HK says there is someone you need to see. they walk over to a door and HK tells him to open it. just then JK gets a call. he says I have to go in to eat so talk later but the caller says Yang MJ disappeared. JK asks what happened. he is about to leave but HK stops him. HK opens the door and she is sitting in there with park and Yoo. HK tells him to go in cuz sister in law is waiting. they have a lot to ask you

flashback to when HK called SY and asked where she was and SY said she was jogging. he tells her not to over do it. she says I am not overdoing it – where are you? HK hears MJ telling her to stop so HK asks is DMJ with you?

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-20-11] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-24-16] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-24-45] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-26-07]

when MJ was walking behind SY, MJ looked over and saw HK so they met. HK says last time at the hospital if I wasn’t seeing hallucinations cuz I injured my head -you suddenly appeared in front of me. MJ: that is correct. HK: 12 yrs ago on that night too – you disappeared within a second and was by the side of the road. MJ: that’s correct too. HK: at first I thought you were strange and dangerous – even when you told me to protect SY from my brother – I thought for sure you were planning something strange but now I know why you told me that. not too long that accident that injured SY was ordered by my brother. MJ: I knew. HK: I think my sister in law is trapped in a hospital. help me so I can get my sister in law out. if I can meet her I can hear more things from her

HK told Yoo to go search for Yang MJ at the hospital cuz the other side will move her since they know her name.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-30-52]

so it was all planned and MJ watched and saw where she was moved to and got in the car with HK. MJ snuck in and took her out. that’s when JK got the call that she disappeared.

HK tells JK – I have a lot to ask you too

MJ talks with HK on the phone and says ok. HK: anyway- thank you.

MJ goes back to SY and she asks who was it – that young girl you met at the park -the one who asked for your number? MJ: no. SY: then was it some other girl. he says it wasn’t and gives her a strawberry to eat. SY: I have to rehearse my lines so will you help me.

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-41-41]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-42-16]

They sit with scripts and MJ says i cant do acting and stuff like this. SY: who told you to act – just rehearse lines with me. all my managers in the past did this. (The script was two characters named Jinsu and Su ah)  MJ asks: scene 71? “diet? don’t do it. I told you many times – I don’t like even one gram of you disappearing. out of all the girls I know you are the prettiest. younger girls are just loud and annoying -I don’t need them all” he stops reading and asks why are the lines like this? SY: it’s always like that. next line. MJ reads: they back hug. why is the script like this? so when you film do you have to do everything on it? SY: I have to. should we practice it? MJ: do what. she says read the next line. MJ reads quietly so she asks aren’t you going to say it? he says let’s stop and walks away. SY: why? where are you going? go together

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-13-08] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-44-57]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-43-58]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[00-13-33]

she clings to his arm and holds his hand as he makes coffee. SY: are you tired of me cuz I clung to you the whole day like Misery. MJ smiles remembering how YJ said. it really is the first time my sister has dated so she doesn’t know anything. SY: me being like this -like I said it’s for the sake of getting sick of you quickly. knowing everything about each other – then we will break that excitement/anticipation. to be honest it’s not like I only dated once or twice. isn’t this obvious between men and women. MJ remembers how YJ said – after our father left, I heard my sister had a harder time than my mom. she had a lot of residual feelings/regrets and affection. that’s her style. even though she loves puppies she cant raise them in case something happens to them midway -cuz she fears that. SY lies: I played as much as I wanted so I wont be pathetic and say stuff about love and residual feelings. I have a more methodical personality than you thought. SY snuggles closer and MJ just holds her hand tighter

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[05-56-30] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-00-17] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-00-24]

she goes back in the room but he is gone. so she goes out looking for him. she calls out everywhere and screams out his name. he shows up and asks why call like that. she asks where he went. MJ: I felt stuffy so I went for a walk. SY: i was alarmed that you left. he asks where would I go. SY: it felt like you left. what I am saying is –  even if you go that you would leave without saying a word or saying bye. if you go without  saying goodbye. MJ: i wont go – i wont leave you behind and leave. I will stay here. she asks what that means. MJ: I wont go. even after a month or two months so don’t be nervous/anxious. SY: will you be ok if you dont go

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-01-58]

MJ remembers what he said: more important than that if I cant go back this time, the chances are higher that I would disappear – in the not too distant future, I would die

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-02-29]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[23-52-56]

MJ tells her – it’s ok. SY: is it really ok? MJ smiles and nods yes. she hugs him tightly. he puts his arms around her and they embrace with the snow swirling around them.

end

*I bet that is why he chose to stay – to feel that kind of response from her. after all those years of living alone – you can’t blame the guy for wanting to feel this sort of overwhelming love from someone he cares so deeply about. her gratitude was encased in the loving way she held on so tight.

epilogue

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-11-38] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-12-16] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-12-52] 별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[06-13-30]

at her home SY typed up that script she made MJ read aloud earlier.  SY types “diet? dont diet. I told you already- younger girls are just loud and annoying, I dont need them all.” she types “they kiss ” and says no what if he collapses again. she deletes and types “they back hug” and giggles like a kid. she gets another idea and types “I wont go anywhere and I will be by your side for a long long time”

MJ read that last line and wont say the line aloud. she asks arent you going to say/read it. he says let’s stop and walks out of the room. she calls out “why? where are you going – let’s go together.

The script page shown had two characters named Jinsu and Su ah. “Jinsu gives Su ah a back hug -they are extremely happy – Jinsu says I wont go anywhere and I will be by your side for a long long time.”

별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[23-52-15]별에서 온 그대.E17.140213.HDTV.Film.x264.720p-LTE[23-53-11]

*If not leaving when the comet comes doesn’t kill MJ, she is going to kill him for making this decision to stay just to console her and allay her fears. The minute SY learns that he chose to stay knowing it could cost him his life, she is going to go bat crazy on him. She wants him to live first and foremost – not have to die just to be with her. If she has learned anything about love so far, it’s to put the other person first. He taught her that, but not when it’s at the expense of one of their lives. She wont accept it then – if the cost of having him around is his impending death, she wont pay such a high price for such a short amount of happiness. I don’t think Jang will let MJ make that kind of sacrifice either. He could endure their friendship being passed over for her, but not when it costs MJ’s life. Jang is going to make SY see reason – that if she really loved MJ she wouldn’t let him risk his life to stay. I keep thinking how everything would be okay if MJ could live just long enough to grow old with SY, but judging from his narration, I don’t think he has that much time left. By choosing SY and love, he chose death. There are a lot of things she can forgive him for, but I doubt that is one of them.

75 comments on “You From Another Star E17

  1. Adela says:

    any updates, guys? for tomorrow’s ep.?

    Like

  2. Anita says:

    Written preview for ep 18 has been posted!!!
    휘경은 재경에게 자백할 마지막 기회를 주지만 재경은 모든 악행을 부인한다. 송이와 산장에서 행복한 시간을 보내는 민준은 점차 초능력이 약해짐을 느끼고 불안해 하는데…
    As always, thanks for whoever translates this, and thanks to Softy for helping us survive till we can watch the episode! ^^

    Like

  3. Adela says:


    Enjoy 🙂

    Like

    • Softy says:

      SY baby talks and says DMJ- couldn’t you teleport and appear in front of me? her mom and brother watch her like she has gone crazy

      her mom asks MJ: answer me – are you thinking of getting married with our SY?

      Jang looks at the plants and asks MJ: there isn’t anything strange about your body right?

      MJ: With the time I have left now with that person – I will stay here.

      MJ says to her: I will do all my best to stay by your side a long long time

      OMG this preview is killing me…

      Like

      • Anonymous says:

        Tq sooo muuuuch for the translate softy :). …u can’t imagine how many times I see u’r blog n googling preview MFTS ep 18.
        Are they really married? Omg…..can’t wait for tomorrow…..

        Like

  4. StephK says:

    Such a happy and sad preview at the same time. I am sure we all hope that MJ will not die. But his plants are withering away as an indication of MJ’s body condition??

    Like

  5. sal728 says:

    Anyone know if the airing time is different again this week due to the Olympics?? Softy??

    Like

    • chikoku says:

      i read at gooddraman.net, there is a comment said that today episode is cancelled. NOOOOO !!

      Softy, maybe you can cheer me up ?

      Like

    • Softy says:

      Hi sal728, each time they show the preview – at the end they write the time it will air and E18 said 10pm the usual time. 🙂

      Like

      • sal728 says:

        OK, will do. Hope my live feed is cooperative tonight! Thanks for always answering, Softy. You’re so nice to your fans/friends/fellow-Kdrama addicts!

        Like

    • adela says:

      He did it 🙂 what about the lycrics?are They beautiful?wonderful voice!!

      Like

      • Softy says:

        lyrics are on page 693 of the Soompi thread 🙂

        Like

        • sal728 says:

          Wish I could get a fast tutorial on how to use Soompi. The site mystifies me every time! How the heck is one supposed to find page 3 or 4, let alone 693??? I keep chuckin’ in hints for the search mode, but it never sends me to what I want. Found some other stuff that was interesting, so I don’t mean to complain…it’s just, how are newcomers supposed to find their way around ??

          Like

            • sal728 says:

              Thanks for the link, Softy. Without it I would never have found that. Was that Twitter? I don’t do Twitter, so I am stupid when it comes to it. Sorry to trouble you!

              I copied the lyrics to KSH’s pretty song, which (I think) is entitled,

              In Front of Your House

              When I’m in front of your house
              That is filled with your scent
              I hesitate for a long time
              Like the time we held hands for the first time
              The butterflies are still there

              Will I be able to see you?
              Will I be able to smile and say hello?
              With those foolish expectations
              I turn around
              But I see you coming from far away

              Your pretty brushed back hair
              Your shy smile
              Are still the same, just like before
              But the me in front of you is a different person

              In case you see me
              I hid myself between the alley
              Like a fool, tears came
              So I turned around
              But you are calling me from far away

              Your pretty brushed back hair
              Your shy smile
              Are still the same, just like before
              But the me in front of you is a different person

              You, who is smiling, even without me
              You look so happy, look so pretty

              Like

        • Adela says:

          thank you for the hint Softy!!! see you later! Hugs

          Like

    • chikoku says:

      Finnaly… Kim So Hyun donate his beautiful voice for this drama. But, why do i feel some changing from his voice, getting softer, not as sharp as when he sang in Dream High

      Thank you Softy !!

      Like

    • StephK says:

      Hope the lyrics doesn’t mean the ending of MJ and SY. It will be so sad for everybody…

      Like

    • sal728 says:

      This OST is named, “Part 8” ?????

      Like

      • sal728 says:

        No, it wasn’t. That was a misunderstanding on my part. The title is something like, “When I am in front of your house” (lyrics listed four replies above).

        Like

  6. Softy says:

    SSK’s song again. This one has great scenes and dialogue from the show. 🙂

    Like

  7. nona says:

    what’s the name of song in 19:35 ?

    Like

Leave a comment