It’s Okay It’s Love

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(106255)19-00-04]

Starting from next Wednesday, I can recap It’s Okay It’s Love live, but this week I can only do these few scenes from E3.

The initials I will be using:

Jae Yeol = JY

Hae Soo = HS

Soo Kwang = SK

The older guy living in the house – the one they call “sunbae” Jo Dong Min = Jo (I just can’t type DM without thinking of the other DM so let’s just call him Jo)

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(105394)18-59-09]

It’s Hae Soo’s heartfelt and brutally honest speech in the rain and those stack of towels that won me over. As soon as my tears flowed, I realized I do care about these characters. Through the first two episodes, I had such a hard time wrapping my head around these characters and the situations they found themselves in. All those jargons regarding psychology are familiar in English, but really hard to translate from Korean since I never learned those terms in Korean. For that sole reason alone, I was hesitant to begin recapping this drama until these two scenes. I probably won’t be able to do every scene and every line of dialogue, but at least I can attempt to translate the lines I am certain of.

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(104567)18-54-55]

 E3

After JY pours his glass of wine on HS reminding her how he had said he would give as good as he got, she tells herself to hold it in but decides against it. She rings that emergency bell and barges into JY’s room and tells him to leave the house (as in move out). The other guys come in and ask what is going on. She asks who is against kicking out Jang JY. Jo asks her to speak coherently instead of just ringing that emergency bell and shocking a person. He wonders why her shorts are on inside out and why JY has wine stain on his shirt – “what is going on?” JY tells him not to speak in banmal. Jo just tells him to just speak in banmal too then. Jo asks HS – is it cuz of this guy’s personality? he tells her to just hold it in but SK votes with her and wants JY to leave too so she says it’s two votes against one and tells JY to go well. But JY stops her and says “you have to tell me the reason at least” and tells the others to leave but they stay and sit on his bed. They both tell him to say it while they are here. JY tells them to get off his bed (“it’s my bed so get up”) so they stand but sit right back down when JY turns back to HS.

JY asks I paid my own money to come to this house so what is the reason why I have to leave cuz of you? HS says how she doesn’t like him and he retorts – I dont feel like you like me either. She asks if he remembers the first time she was rude to him and he says he does. He reminds her how she injured his head as she was running after that mental patient to catch him-after that she got help from JY that she didn’t say one word of thanks or an apology and just gave one text – rudely saying how she would deposit the medical expense to his bank account. She points out if someone behaved that way most people would end their relationship with that other person. That is what she wanted so that is why she behaved that way even more. but you aren’t like the average person. if someone woman gets into your head, you do your best to lay her on that bed (sleep with her) for it to end. JY grins and asks does what you are saying mean that you are in my head? do you have that much charm/magnetic appeal? She points to the bed again and says I wont lie on that bed. you have a lot of money right? find another home and get out. As she starts to walk away, JY says “dont lay there. even if I try to lay you (on the bed) all you have to do is not lay there. why? are you afraid you will walk to my bed on your own two feet? I’m sorry you lost your boyfriend, but dont take it out on me for no reason. back then I really didnt know. I didnt know and said it. She doesnt buy it cuz on the talk show he acted like he knew about everything. are you that ignorant and lacking sense? JY: I’m sorry but I might not look like it so you might not believe me – I hate myself cuz I’m like this too – but I really dont have sense. so that is why I was betrayed by my friend and girlfriend both regarding plagiarism. She takes a breath when he admits that personal info and steps over to his wall of notes and reads the line he wrote on the post it “did you two have a deep kiss?” She turns back and asks accusingly – is someone else’s pain fun for you to write about it? JY: I sell my own pain to make a living so what of other’s pain. He walks over and writes down what she said – “is someone else’s pain fun for you to write about it?” I like that line. also I will leave this house – just give me four days cuz it takes time to move homes/furniture. Then he tells Jo – “also – move out.” She asks Jo what that means. Jo yells you two weren’t close so I couldn’t tell you but this entire building is all his. JY tells SK -you have to find another job other than the cafe cuz that’s mine too. Now it’s all over right? leave. HS retorts – I was about to leave and goes out.

The trio sits around moping as JY walks out saying it’s going to rain so collect all the laundry hanging on the lawn. HS mutters “what rain” just as a storm breaks. Jo remarks that guy is a psychic. He yells at HS -what are you going to do now cuz you cant control your temper. instead of directing it at PD choi – why direct it at that guy. You should have believed him when he said he did it without knowing. He said with his own mouth that he doesnt have sense. What are you going to do about this home now? She tells him to calm down cuz she knows the law a bit and asks how long is left on their contract since they can’t be kicked out till then. Turns out there is only a week left and this home is 70% cheaper than the building next door. They discuss how to raise money and come up with asking Jo’s brother but when he calls his brother, the guy just yells that he wont lend him any money. Turns out when her mom opened her store, she borrowed 50,000 from Jo so he doesnt have any money. SK says I have money – about ten thousand but turns out he has way less cuz he spent it on women – so now he only has around four thousand.

JY goes out to buy more post its. On his way out a girl in uniform gives him five dollars to buy her a pack of cigarettes and keep the rest for the price of his milk. He just goes in and buys her milk for her and her friends saying “you look pretty.”

When he gets home HS is staring at the monitor cuz her ex showed up to beg for forgiveness and get her back. When Jo asks who keeps ringing the bell JY yells out from his room – the two timer. Jo tells her – tell him to come in or leave. he goes over and tells her – just do enough. there is someone here who has been divorced, but you didnt even sleep with him and broke up. She walks away and says if you open the door for him you are dead.

Her ex keeps calling out but HS mutters about how there are no towels on a rainy day cuz they have all been washed. The ex keeps calling out – open the door – just listen to what I have to say – please just hear me out. please let’s just talk – open the door.” JY tries to work on his new book “Head Doctors” but cant concentrate cuz of the ex. He goes to her door to knock but she comes out and goes out in the rain to confront her ex.

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(024522)18-46-38]괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(033729)18-41-56]

JY walks to the window to watch them talk.

Her ex explains that MY liked him on her own (one sided) -just once a month ago after they drank at a work gathering, he took her home and it was just that one day (they slept together). Next day I told her – I love HS. it was a mistake. so I said let’s end it. MY said ok but once in a while she would suddenly get close (as in make advances). That is what Jang JY saw. it wasn’t mutual – she just took advantage. JY watches from inside and mutters “really?” The lying weasel tells her – I cant end it with you. HS: I am ending it. She is about to go in but he grabs her and kisses her and JY watches on knowing that was a big mistake. She slaps her ex and pushes him away. The ex digs his grave deeper by saying – not being able to sleep with the one you love like others – do you know how hard that is? we drink together, play together, and then we go to a motel and you sleep on the bed and me on the floor. not just once or twice but more than 10-20 times. I was patient. cuz I love you. ask any guy on the street -even though you love each other – not sleeping together- if you are the normal (right minded/sane) one or if I am the sane one. HS throws down her umbrella and yells back “ask what? I know you are the sane one too. I’m the one who isn’t (the one with issues). I made that request to you – because I watched my mom having an affair with another man for over 20 yrs, I know that I have a terrible and weird condition thinking that sex is bad. Other people say it’s nice when their heart trembles when they are in love – but I hate it like when you vomit when you are drunk. being able to kiss you even it’s cuz I was able to tell my heart over and over “it’s okay” so that it became okay. I can kiss but I cant have sex – if I even think about sex still – my heart trembles and I am afraid. so I asked you to go easy on me. even if it’s hard – to help me. I want to be rid of this dirty condition too. didnt I cry and beg and tell you that? Her ex kneels and says I am sorry. JY closes his window. Jo and SK are inside listening too by their window. SK calls the ex a bastard but Jo says let’s listen quietly. Outside, HS continues: “I wanted to overcome it. patients who hated their moms love them. husbands they wanted to kill – they understand. when they are able to overcome their conditions like that -those faces that accomplished what they wanted -when I saw them beaming in that one moment -I wondered how that felt – I really wanted to know what that felt like – with you. for you it was just one night with MY, but each time I kiss you now I will recall MY. just like whenever I see my mom, I recall her kissing that man. was waiting 300 days that much of a waste? I waited all my life for that day. today is the last with you.” she walks away from him.

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(102109)18-52-02]괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(102709)18-52-39]괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(104451)18-54-42]

No time to finish the rest so here is the last scene:

After they all make up somewhat HS and JY decide to have drinks in his room.

When she goes into his room for beer, JY asks why she doesn’t like it (sex). She looks up at him wondering how he knows so he admits it’s cuz you always talk too loudly with S. He sits next to her and asks “is that difficult for you?” HS says “a player like you could never know. but still it’s a little better now. before -just thinking about kissing or sleeping with someone would make my heart race and my breath would catch. I even took medication. Ten years ago. Now I’m a lot better. I’m a doctor so I got this way as a result of therapy. I played a simulation in my head over hundreds of times – while imagining love. Kissing is not a bad thing between men and women in love. It’s beautiful. That’s how I did mind control. If I meet someone I love for real – I might be able to have an amazing love – who knows. I’m looking forward to it.” JY asks why keep imagining it over and over. all you have to do is just do it -lightly. HS: how can you do that lightly? JY: why can’t you do it? He leans over and kisses her.

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(029668)18-39-41]
There is something about her vulnerability in this scene that really spoke to me. She came out to tell him off, but stayed to defend her choice in letting him go. She used her eloquence to put him in his place as the one who wronged her on every level. Not just as a boyfriend, but also as a decent human being. He thinks he should get some credit for being patient for so long and waiting till she was ready to sleep with him, but he forgot that was supposed to be a privilege and not a right he earned for being patient. He knew full well it was an act that meant more to her than anything – it would mean ten years of therapy and anguish could finally be put to rest – that she could start to heal the scar her mother’s infidelity left on her heart. I think the fact that he cheated on her so casually and easily without a second thought to what it would mean to HS proved to her once and for all that she had chosen the wrong man to share that intimate moment with. The rain flowing down her face sort of felt like a cleansing – she was wiping clean any residual feelings she might have held for him in that moment. That is why I was so glad JY was the one who shared his towels with her. Not just as a symbolic act that he was absorbing some of the impact of her pain by lessening it with a thoughtful gesture, but also because he was demonstrating some growth too – for being able to see beyond his own anger and issues with her to find room for some empathy. For a second I was afraid he wouldn’t take the towels to her, but I knew his compassion would win over any issues he has about sharing his belongings. I love that scene so much – it made me realize this drama has heart and in all the right places.

괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(104122)18-53-57] 괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(104851)18-55-56] 괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(105298)18-56-26] 괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(105486)18-56-41]괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(039430)23-04-09] 괜찮아, 사랑이야.E03.140730.HDTV.XviD-BarosG[(106439)18-58-44]

15 comments on “It’s Okay It’s Love

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Softy, like you, I took a break since YFAS, and this is the first drama after YFAS. Looking to journey this drama with you.

    Like

  2. KDaddict says:

    Softy,
    Great to have you back. You are all about heart. It’s always feel warm n fuzzy watching a drama w you!

    Like

  3. martha says:

    I’m so happy that you are going to recap this drama! Thank you for all your hard work.

    Like

  4. Zana Safwan says:

    Hi ! Can you help me with the soundtrack in this drama ? there is this one that i don’t know the title… so it would be really great if you could help me ..so the song that i want know is in episode 4 when jae yul played when hae soo was sleeping.. it’s a duet song i suppose … it would be wonderful if someone could tell me the song’s title. thank you 🙂

    Like

    • Softy says:

      I asked Joonni to search for the song but she couldn’t find any info on it. She thinks it might be a new ost that hasnt been released yet. I tried looking with the lyrics translated and didn’t find anything either. So sorry I couldn’t help you out. I know how frustrating it is when you like a song and can’t find it.
      All I can tell you are some of the lyrics I could catch between dialogue and scene cuts:

      I am loving you
      by any chance can you not see my heart?
      please don’t distance yourself
      cuz my tears are about to fall.

      I’m waiting for you
      I’m in the same place and seat….
      ????
      tears that flow like stars falling are flowing in my heart

      why don’t you love me
      why are you rolling around in my head
      I don’t get a single word
      that green house -are you perhaps living in that house?
      I just stare at that house all night

      I’m loving you
      by any chance can you not see my heart
      please don’t distance yourself
      cuz my tears are about to fall
      when it rains you find shelter
      if it’s hard you take a breather for a short time
      behind you – I will always protect you

      Like

  5. grapefruit7 says:

    finally softy….i missed you heartful recap ^^ everyday since 23rd july i keep on visiting your blog.. coz it would be great to have this journey with u & the rest of your readers about IOTL..

    thanks so much for this opportunity…we, at soompi IOTL thread, are very delighted 🙂

    Like

  6. jnewin says:

    Happy Back Recapping!

    Like

  7. Cikitita says:

    Yeayyyy finally u got ur decision..
    Welcome back softy..
    So happy going a journey again with u..
    Thanks in advance..^.^

    Like

  8. Blue Passion says:

    Dear Softy: Thanks a Million!!! I am so happy you will be recapping this drama. I felt for this drama after the second episode. Looking forward coming here to read your posts!!!! Have a great one. Take care.

    Like

  9. Californiagirl says:

    I’m glad someone else is recapping this awesome drama. The dramabeans recaps of this show sort of suck.

    Like

  10. raindrops1 says:

    Hi Softy,
    I hope you have been well. Sooo happy to hear that you will start recapping again, as I love your writing. I’ve pretty much taken a break from watching k-dramas. I’ve followed some here and there but there is none that I’m watching although I’ve been reading Joonni’s recaps of Trot Lovers. It’s Okay, It’s Love was probably the drama I was anticipating the most. Two eps in (I think) I like it, I find it intriguing and interesting and different from anything I’ve watched before. It definitely keeps me interested and find that it has great potential, and I like that it’s bringing to the forefront topics/issues that we don’t usually see in k-dramas.

    It makes me think and I find myself having questions and being curious about will come. Right now that is the reason that I want to stick with the show until the end but I anticipate that moment when I fall in love with the show. I’m very intrigued to see where the story takes us and I know that your writing will helping me see things in a new light. I look forward to your comments/reactions to each episode.

    Sending you lots of positive thought and “virtual” Vit C as you start a new project.
    (Sorry, if my comments seem to be a little hesitant about the show but I guess I’m just trying to figure out how I feel about it. I know that lots of ppl have fallen in love with the show already and I don’t want to seem like a debbie downer. I think there is nothing better as k-drama fan than loving and being excited about the drama one’s watching)

    Like

  11. demi says:

    softy thank God you are back

    Like

  12. Jakjac says:

    Hi softy! I’m glad you’re back. Thanks for the recap.

    Like

  13. ctfrsgp says:

    Dear Softy,

    I’m so glad to see you back in action again ♡ Can’t wait for October to come quickly.

    Take care and have fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

