Saying goodbye to 1n2d’s maknae Joowon

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-27-10]

Ever since I heard about Joowon leaving 1N2D, I waited for this episode. I didn’t know if I could recap it through my tears, but I wanted to try for his sake. I expected a lot of crying tonight, but I didn’t expect so much heartache. Leave it to Joowon to make even farewells memorable and poignant. He wasn’t just the maknae on this team, he was the one who showed a lot of effort to improve each week and do his best. Despite his busy schedule filming dramas and movies, he made it work and stuck with us week after week. If any of these hyungs didn’t have younger brothers in real life, they fulfilled their dream of having one around with Joowon. He was the best one too – loveable, dependable, loyal, and full of respect and adoration. They couldn’t have asked for a better maknae. That’s probably why they decided not to search for a new one cuz once he became a part of their lives, he became irreplaceable in their hearts. By not getting another member, this was their way of showing how much Joowon meant to them. He didn’t need twenty months for us to fall in love with him cuz he already had most of our hearts through his acting, but it took that long for the rest of these hyungs to store up all the precious memories they shared with their beloved maknae so that they can cherish them for the rest of their lives. Thank you Joowon for making 1n2d a little more special with each new memory. Our best wishes and all our love go with you.

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-11-20]

As most of you know, I stopped watching 1n2d quite a while back and haven’t caught up to all the episodes I missed. I don’t want to play the blame game and point fingers and say where this show started going wrong for me and losing my attention. Since Joowon is leaving, I just wanted to get some closure and translate his farewell scenes for his 1n2d fans. This episode has been the most emotional for me regarding this show cuz I’ve been a huge fan since the first one. I cried a lot then too on the last show when I watched Seung Gi become a blubbering mess, but leave it to Joowon to make me top that and bawl my eyes out. I skipped the first half and went straight to the part about his last night on this show. I even translated the mumbled parts too so you don’t miss out on a single detail.

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-08-56] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-11-53] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-15-45] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-20-41] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-34-41] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-34-53] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-37-09]

Inside his tent -Joowon looks at the camera and says “to the audience members – this is my last night. this is the last one. Haejin hyung, tae hyun hyung, Su Guen hyung, Tae Woong hyung, Si Kyung hyung, Jong min hyung, thank you – also -for not being with you till the end, I’m sorry.”

Next morning, he wakes up early and covers up the hyung sleeping next to him. Joowon checks a recipe on his phone and goes to the food truck ajumma and asks hot to make the dried fish soup. as he washes the rice he says I think I was always in charge of the rice – the rice and ramen. even when I did musicals -when we went somewhere to play, I made the rice and ramen. Then he prepares and cooks the soup himself saying  how he should have learned something from a great cook for a year and 8 months (talking about SK I think). Parts of his interview comes out. “Honestly – whenever I came on 1n2d I always enjoyed it. of course acting on dramas is comfortable and fun, but when I come here, I wear casual clothes and the time with hyungs was happy. once every two weeks I will feel like something is missing now (cuz he wont be filming this anymore). He tastes the rice and says the rice always comes out well. Then he tastes the soup and makes a shocked face. the staff tastes it too and says it’s delicious. He asks if he can keep the heat on it low cuz he needs to feed it to the hyungs while it’s hot.  He goes over and wakes up each hyung by putting the mics on them himself. SG tells the others that JW woke up and made all the food himself. TW: I feel sorry. SK: ya just cuz you make the food – you think we will send you off? JW laughs. the guys ask – can we eat this (cuz they feel so bad not helping out). SK tastes it and tells the others that JW made the soup well. TW says it was cooked well.  JW says I learned from under SK hyung. the guys says we will eat it well. TH asks who will be in charge of getting popularity from here on? SK says each of us do it. SG makes a joke and says each of us doing it is not the problem for the person next to me (meaning HJ wont easily be able to get popularity). JM asks if JW made this for the first time. the guys start to talk about how whatever JW made it was delicious. TH pretends to be emotional and crying as he eats. HJ asks JW: how is it different now from when you first did this? JW asks: can I say something that will make you feel self concious. others envy me. JM: why? JW: knowing you hyungs -they envy me. JM: really? me? JW: not you hyung. (others laugh) SG: it makes me feel proud. He pretends to cry into his soup. HJ yells why are you laughing? SG asks him: is there anything you want to do JW? SK: we will do what you want. HJ: how about a place with a great view – like a café and have sandwiches and coffee with hand drip. JW: honestly – more than wanting to do something specific..TW finishes his sentence before JW does “I just want to be together. whatever we do.”

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[02-02-53]

The guys pile into a van and then walk up a mountain top. Joowon’s interview: I said this to my pastor too.  Support. support next to me. during chusok suddenly on set, HJ hyung called and said “you are having fun right? have a good chusok.” at that time, SH was next to me and Chae noona was there too and all the actors were there. I bragged to them “I got a call from HJ hyung.” so it made me feel proud. SG hyung had a drink and texted me “I love you.” We were among men, but in my life, until the day I die, meeting hyungs like these -I think in our lives it’s the greatest fortune/luck having such great support.

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-12-21] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-13-28] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-11-37]해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-13-39] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-13-53] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-18-59] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-20-10] 해피선데이.E461.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 첫 번째 이야기.131020.HDTV.XViD-HANrel[(142515)00-21-03]

The guys gather around and pose saying 1n2d. before they toss him in the air, they say “is this all we can do for him?” after they toss JW twice the guys are tired so TH holds his back and jokes – let’s just go now.

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-11-08]해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-23-20] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-23-51] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-26-03] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[02-35-04] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[02-35-49]해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-55-21] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-56-28] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-59-06] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[00-59-19] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-00-32] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-00-58]

They pass out the coffee and remark how great the view is at this coffee shop. It’s really daebak. SG: it’s already been almost 2 yrs. one year and 8 months. TH: it was really funny when we went to JW’s home. those A4 trivia study guide sheets. SG brings up their big misunderstanding about JW. flashback to when JM snuck up with a camera on JW and Choi Kang Hee in the back of the car thinking there was something going on between them. TH remarks -while I was driving I thought for sure 100% (that they were dating) and the others remark cuz JW and CKH seemed like a married couple. JW seems surprised and says “really?” Then they talk about JW and his banmal speaking manners to SW hyung. (cuz JW uses banmal the way you would to a little kid and he spoke like that to SW.) SG: JW saw SW hyung in the morning and said “hi” and waved (like he would to a kid). so SW asked the other guys :what should I do about him. SG says how JW said to SW “hyung – eat” in banmal. TW shares his first time experience hearing JW talk like that to him on their movie set. TW: He said to me “hyung – did you come back from peeing?” so TW mumbled to himself : he didn’t even say relieving your bladder he said peeing. TH: what is that – relieving your bladder and peeing is the same. TW: but relieving your bladder sounds like he is trying more to be polite. SG: a lot of time has passed. 1 year 8 months. JM: I really wanted to say this to JW – for not taking care of you a little better -that was always left in my heart and I felt sorry. TW: but you do that to women too. JM: that’s why I was wrong. [other guys laugh] I wanted to take care of him better but he is better off than me (cuz JW earns more money). [everyone laughs loudly] SK:  truthfully – cuz he is going off to become better and focus on his work -aside from being sad that I wont be next to him and see him – there is no problem. I can smile and send him off with good feelings. TW: it’s sad to send him off but he will feel that way too. Friday mornings he will think “wonder what the hyungs are doing.” SG asks JW to say some words.  say what you want to say and get it off your chest (meaning to feel refreshed).

JW: why I was able to continue doing 1n2d for one year and 8 months was… (he doesn’t finish cuz his emotions overwhelm him. he wipes his tears and says “I knew this would happen”) I think it was really cuz of you hyungs. [All the guys are looking elsewhere trying to fight back their tears as JW continues]: when I went to do dramas, I bragged about you hyungs. to do that was a privilege. to be able to say I am close with these people was a real privilege. when I came back from 1n2d and went to the set, being able to say “where I came back from today is really nice and (tell them) what’s delicious” saying these things was a big privilege. coming here and just hearing what you hyungs say was so much fun and I could laugh big so I was happy. really – in my life – this was a privilege. why I was able to hang in there while doing movies and dramas – going on trips once every two weeks -was cuz I could play with you hyungs and kid around. that was a big strength. of course it’s not like we cant meet for the rest of our lives, but it’s very sad. I said this all the time but you hyungs are my strong support. hyungs that I will love for the rest of my life. sorry for not getting laughs – I always felt bad about that. there are things as the maknae that I have regrets about. there were things that were hard on me. even though I wanted to do it – it didn’t work out well cuz of my personality. still for watching over me so lovingly – I am so grateful to the staff.  there are a lot of things I have to show as an actor to progress/to do well. I will work hard and do well on stage. I was very happy. Thank you.

All the guys were crying through that speech. TW wiped his tears on his pants even cuz he was hugging his knees. TW complains “it’s so annoying” (cuz he cant stop crying) SG remarks that TW cries too often. TW: cuz I got older. TH gives his reason for crying: I felt bad for not crying when SW hyung left. JM says to JW “We will support you so come back anytime when you are having a hard time. for real.” They are about to do the closing but TW is still crying. JW remarks that normally TW hyung doesn’t cry. TW: it’s cuz I’m old. clips of past JW scenes come out. the guys do the closing to come visit Jejudo. Then they all hug JW as he cries some more.

해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-02-37] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-02-46] 해피선데이.E462.1박2일.제주, 10월의 어느 멋진 날 두 번째 이야기.131027.HDTV.H264.720p-HANrel[01-02-56]

Seven grown men couldn’t contain their tears so no one expects any of us to either. I feel like I didn’t just say goodbye to Joowon on 1n2d, but to the show itself. Thank you 1n2d for being smart enough to recruit Joowon as your maknae. As a viewer, I think you couldn’t have chosen anyone better. As for all those movies, dramas, and musical that are taking away our maknae from the program, you are getting the best out of all the 87ers – don’t waste his talent and help him cultivate his career. He made a huge sacrifice leaving 1n2d for you so make sure you deserve him. Give him the best roles so that he doesn’t have to look back with regret leaving his hyungs behind on their own. I’m going to miss this program, but at least I can walk away with fond memories. You showed us that part of the enjoyment of these trips was the company you shared. Thank you for providing us with the best guides possible. Korea never looked better and this program can feel proud that it became an indelible part of our lives.

13 comments on “Saying goodbye to 1n2d’s maknae Joowon

  1. Softy says:

    This was the song that was played for the first scene tonight

    Like

  2. joowon forever says:

    Thank you so much ……….

    Like

  3. flo says:

    Dear Softy..thank you so much for this
    I was crying so hard by just looking your screencaps and read your recap, i havent watched this episode yet….i’m gonna miss uri JW soo much T_T..
    my sunday will never be the same again..he was the only reason for me to watch 1n2d
    i will be happy and respect his choice and I will support him always…

    Like

  4. Softy your recap made me cry from the top to the bottom.
    Thank you so much.

    Like

  5. umi says:

    Dear softy, read your recap made me cry again. I watch 1N2D cuz of jw but my love grow also for all his hyung, see how their bromance and their love for the maknae. I’m glad jw joined this show and all his hyung, we the fans always support whatever he does…

    Like

  6. maryss91 says:

    Thank you so much for the recap =)
    I feel so sad knowing we won’t be able to see him on the show anymore, but I hope he will be invited as a guest in the future. Honestly, he was the reason I started watching 1n 2d and this episode really breaks my heart, his speech was so touching….I couldn’t help but burst into tears…. 😦

    Like

  7. Thank you so much Softy for the recap…
    I was crying so hard when I watched the video without your translation, even when I didn’t understand fully what they were saying!
    And when I read your post, I again cried…
    Oh dear…
    I am so sad, soooo sad….
    Really I feel my heart hurts so much, I don’t understand why…
    I felt like I am being sad for JooWon….
    I felt like he’s dying inside when he made the decision to quit this show…
    I know he loves the hyungs so much… and… yeah… it is just hard… something he needs to do and all…
    Ohhh and I just cannot hold any tears to see the loves from his hyungs…
    Thank youuuuu Softy for recapping this!!!

    Like

  8. SS says:

    Thank you Softy. I woke up and check this page immediately. It seems as if I cried to sleep, cried when I woke up. It’s was just as hard watching his hyungs cry when he cried. And when they flashed back to the very first episode, I bawled more. I remember you said the staff in the van was star strucked.

    Whenever I see how people who know Joo Won are affected by him, it makes me feel I am sane in my adulation.

    Like

  9. enz says:

    i read this during lunch but had to stop coz i started tearing up badly over my noodles and people were giivng me strange looks. then i tried to read it at work and started crying again.

    i had stopped watching 2d1n regularly but i started watching because of joo won. i always was glad that he had joined it, he was starting to get so famous and so busy and having these hyungs around him would ground him as his career soared and having these weekends where he just had to focus on being physical and having fun with these brothers of his were much valued/

    thanks for sharing this, softy. he will always have a special place in my heart coz ojakgyo was my gateway drama. wish him the stars and the moon in life and work.

    Like

  10. SS says:

    Hi Softy, I do not know where to put this or even if I should post here. However, it’s something I think Joo Won fans will not want to miss. Having said that, please remove it as you deem fit.

    Recently one of our members won 2 tickets to watch GHOST the musical rehearsal on the 23rd October. She had participated in a contest on the official facebook page. When we learned that she was going to have an experience of a lifetime, we tasked her to be a super fantastic fangirl and a list of to-dos.

    Now , she is back and I post her fan account on our blog. She gave us an awesome detailed account of her experience at the rehearsal and her encounter with Joo Won. If any Joo Won fans would like to read, please visit us at joowoncutie.wordpress.com

    Like

  11. chokichoki says:

    I don’t know if I have the heart to watch this when it airs on KBS World. Even reading your recap is enough to make me bawl. I will continue to watch 1N2D but it will feel empty without him. I hope he will come back as a guest someday. Thanks Softy for the recap.

    Like

  12. nonski says:

    softy, thank you so much for posting this. still catching up. 🙂

    i thought i won’t be that affected by just reading cuz i haven’t watched the episode yet but as i was going through your post, tears just fall down until i finished reading this. basically our love here for joowon was the factor that made me watch 1n2d and you deciding to recap the show. i feel sorry that after a year, i faltered in watching the show dutifully but never failed to download them. i really did love 1n2d and came to appreciate Korea because in this show’s format they introduce Korea in beautiful colors. it was always nice watching this show because, obviously, aside from joowon, is the interaction of the cast. they showed genuine love for each other and esp to our maknae. i am thankful to the hyungs for that. even in the most dire situations and hunger (more often) they showed how enthusiastic they are and that jw had been the source of happiness for these people. their love and care for him is very evident, esp TW. i will surely miss watching JW on this show and to be frank, i might not be able to watch again 1n2d. initially, he is my sole reason but then i liked the show in the process but i don’t think that love will sustain me watching without our JW.

    i join all OBnians in wishing all the best for JW, in his stage and acting career.

    Like

    • nonski says:

      i just have to add this… it is easy for us to cry when it comes to JW cuz when he does the crying we know it’s genuine because he is such a real person.

      Like

Leave a Reply

